Angebote zu "Toon" (6 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

Thirteen Weddings - Toon, Paige
1,19 € *
zzgl. 3,99 € Versand
Anbieter: reBuy
Stand: 23.09.2020
Zum Angebot
Alice's Adventirs in Wunnerlaun: Alice's Advent...
28,90 CHF *
zzgl. 3,50 CHF Versand

Lewis Carroll wis the pen-name ae Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, a professor o mathematics at Christ Church, Oxford. His weel-kent story came aboot while he wis oan a rowin trip up the watter ae the Thames in Oxford oan 4 July 1862. Dodgson wis accompanit oan this outin bi the Rev. Robinson Duckworth an three young lassies: Alice Liddell, the ten-year-auld daughter ae the Dean ae Christ Church, an Alice's two sisters, Lorina and Edith, who wir thirteen an eight. As ye kin tell fae the poem at the stairt, the three lassies begged Dodgson fir a story, an so he went oan tae tell them, wioot a hale loat ae enthusiasm tae begin wi, an early version ae the story that wis tae become 'Alice's Adventirs in Wunnerlaun'. Acause ae this, there's a fair few refrences tae the five traivellers in the boat hauf-hidden away throo-oot the text ae the book, which wis published eventually in 1865. Glaswegian, the dialect ae Scots spoke mainly in Glesca an the surroondin coonty ae Lanarkshire, differs mainly fae ither Scots dialect in the range an variety ae its influences. Glesca's pairt in the 18th Century transatlantic trade o Great Britain, an its later expansion intae an industrial pooer in its ain right, saw the toon turn intae a meltin pot ae cultural differences. Linguistically, the maist important immigrants bi faur wir the Irish an the Scottish Hielanmen, who settlt in Glesca in their droves. The vowel soonds ae Glaswegian, mebbe its maist significant distinguishing merks, owe much tae the pronunciation ae the city's Irish an Hielan incomers. -- Lewis Carroll was the pen-name of Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, a mathematics don in Christ Church, Oxford. His famous tale originated during a rowing trip on the Thames in Oxford on 4 July 1862. Dodgson was accompanied on this outing by the Rev. Robinson Duckworth and three young girls: Alice Liddell, the ten-year-old daughter of the Dean of Christ Church, and Alice's two sisters, Lorina and Edith, who were thirteen and eight. As is clear from the introductory poem, the three girls begged Dodgson for a story, and so he began to tell them, reluctantly at first, an early version of the story that was to become 'Alice's Adventures in Wonderland'. As a result there are a number of half-hidden references made to the five travellers in the boat throughout the text of the book itself, which was finally published in 1865. Glaswegian, the dialect of Scots spoken principally in Glasgow and the surrounding county of Lanarkshire, differs primarily from other Scots dialect in the range and variety of its influences. Glasgow's role in the 18th Century trans atlantic trade of Great Britain, and its later expansion into a bona fide industrial power, saw the city become a thorough fare of cultural differences. Linguistically, the most impor tant immigrants by far were the Irish and the Scottish Highlanders, who settled in Glasgow in great numbers. The vowel sounds of Glaswegian, which are perhaps its most significant distinguishing marks, owe much to the pronunciation of the city's Irish and Highlander incomers.

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 23.09.2020
Zum Angebot
A Christmas Wedding
2,20 CHF *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The short story eBook sequel to Thirteen Weddings, from bestselling author Paige Toon. Four years ago, following that fated thirteenth wedding, Bronte fled the UK and has been happily burying her head in the sand ever since. But when an email lands in her inbox from Alex, it seems her past might be about to catch up with her right here in Sydney. Is it time for Bronte to finally face her demons? With links to The Last Piece of My Heart, Lucy in the Sky and One Perfect Summer, this short story ebook sequel to Thirteen Weddings is a must for all fans of Paige Toon. Get ready for Christmas with a heartwarming short story from Paige Toon, perfect for fans of Giovanna Fletcher and Adele Parks. Praise for The Last Piece of My Heart: 'A gorgeous, warm novel' Adele Parks 'I loved it' Lindsey Kelk 'Poignant and lovely, warm and wise' Milly Johnson 'Paige's writing is brilliant!' Mhairi McFarlane 'Wonderfully heartfelt… her best book yet' heat, five star review

Anbieter: Orell Fuessli CH
Stand: 23.09.2020
Zum Angebot
Alice's Adventirs in Wunnerlaun: Alice's Advent...
18,99 € *
zzgl. 3,00 € Versand

Lewis Carroll wis the pen-name ae Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, a professor o mathematics at Christ Church, Oxford. His weel-kent story came aboot while he wis oan a rowin trip up the watter ae the Thames in Oxford oan 4 July 1862. Dodgson wis accompanit oan this outin bi the Rev. Robinson Duckworth an three young lassies: Alice Liddell, the ten-year-auld daughter ae the Dean ae Christ Church, an Alice's two sisters, Lorina and Edith, who wir thirteen an eight. As ye kin tell fae the poem at the stairt, the three lassies begged Dodgson fir a story, an so he went oan tae tell them, wioot a hale loat ae enthusiasm tae begin wi, an early version ae the story that wis tae become 'Alice's Adventirs in Wunnerlaun'. Acause ae this, there's a fair few refrences tae the five traivellers in the boat hauf-hidden away throo-oot the text ae the book, which wis published eventually in 1865. Glaswegian, the dialect ae Scots spoke mainly in Glesca an the surroondin coonty ae Lanarkshire, differs mainly fae ither Scots dialect in the range an variety ae its influences. Glesca's pairt in the 18th Century transatlantic trade o Great Britain, an its later expansion intae an industrial pooer in its ain right, saw the toon turn intae a meltin pot ae cultural differences. Linguistically, the maist important immigrants bi faur wir the Irish an the Scottish Hielanmen, who settlt in Glesca in their droves. The vowel soonds ae Glaswegian, mebbe its maist significant distinguishing merks, owe much tae the pronunciation ae the city's Irish an Hielan incomers. -- Lewis Carroll was the pen-name of Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, a mathematics don in Christ Church, Oxford. His famous tale originated during a rowing trip on the Thames in Oxford on 4 July 1862. Dodgson was accompanied on this outing by the Rev. Robinson Duckworth and three young girls: Alice Liddell, the ten-year-old daughter of the Dean of Christ Church, and Alice's two sisters, Lorina and Edith, who were thirteen and eight. As is clear from the introductory poem, the three girls begged Dodgson for a story, and so he began to tell them, reluctantly at first, an early version of the story that was to become 'Alice's Adventures in Wonderland'. As a result there are a number of half-hidden references made to the five travellers in the boat throughout the text of the book itself, which was finally published in 1865. Glaswegian, the dialect of Scots spoken principally in Glasgow and the surrounding county of Lanarkshire, differs primarily from other Scots dialect in the range and variety of its influences. Glasgow's role in the 18th Century trans atlantic trade of Great Britain, and its later expansion into a bona fide industrial power, saw the city become a thorough fare of cultural differences. Linguistically, the most impor tant immigrants by far were the Irish and the Scottish Highlanders, who settled in Glasgow in great numbers. The vowel sounds of Glaswegian, which are perhaps its most significant distinguishing marks, owe much to the pronunciation of the city's Irish and Highlander incomers.

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 23.09.2020
Zum Angebot
A Christmas Wedding
2,12 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The short story eBook sequel to Thirteen Weddings, from bestselling author Paige Toon. Four years ago, following that fated thirteenth wedding, Bronte fled the UK and has been happily burying her head in the sand ever since. But when an email lands in her inbox from Alex, it seems her past might be about to catch up with her right here in Sydney. Is it time for Bronte to finally face her demons? With links to The Last Piece of My Heart, Lucy in the Sky and One Perfect Summer, this short story ebook sequel to Thirteen Weddings is a must for all fans of Paige Toon. Get ready for Christmas with a heartwarming short story from Paige Toon, perfect for fans of Giovanna Fletcher and Adele Parks. Praise for The Last Piece of My Heart: 'A gorgeous, warm novel' Adele Parks 'I loved it' Lindsey Kelk 'Poignant and lovely, warm and wise' Milly Johnson 'Paige's writing is brilliant!' Mhairi McFarlane 'Wonderfully heartfelt… her best book yet' heat, five star review

Anbieter: Thalia AT
Stand: 23.09.2020
Zum Angebot